Posted on

CONTINUUM: RETURNING TO A TOMORROW AGAIN?

I am now feeling just a little underwhelmed. Yes, that amazing looking shiny new sci-fi show which was due along, and looked very much like it might just blow your tiny mind all over, and seemed to arrive quite sudden really, well now it is in my eyes struggling just a bit.

Okay, I will admit that I have missed the first episode, and yes I am now of course seriously hoping that that has not just drastically ruined the onward narrative for me, and that is how I am sure many would aim to argue my words here. But even just jumping in through the second and third episodes, it has not yet grabbed my curious sci-fi mind and shouted into my aging ears-‘Hey, this is like a documentary from some awesome tomorrow, guy!’. No, that has not happen yet.

Believe me though, while there are always many new shows arriving all of the time, and a few in the SF manner (though most genre shows today include or focus on teenage wolf people or confused but gorgeous detective vampires) I eventually saw them teaser trailers, and read some news about this instantly fascinating show. It was the kind of sci-fi show that I did really want to see on small screen, it is even close to some of the science fiction that I myself have written at times. It sounded good, and looked five times better.

But now that it is on our screens-is it such a great show? Can it still become that?

It might just be that it has been so long since this particular kind of science fiction show has been on television, a show not set in space, and neither a few hundred years ahead in time but located close enough to our own time and with a fresh realistic enough feel at many times. It could take a while to adjust to the specific themes, and style of the writing and settings of the show, which I would still continue to watch on through.

I do very much like some SF which is connected close to our own times, perhaps a few years from right now. In that sense, CONTINUUM should provide a fresh enough angle. And it does seem that the writing of both male and female characters is balanced to a pleasing level so far.

I only hope that it pulls up in soon enough, throws out some stunning scenes, twists and performances which could then make it a truly remarkable series that could survive on air.

About JAMES E PARSONS

Author of science fiction novels Orbital Kin and Minerva Century-also horror, literary fiction, many short stories and screenplays. Always reading, writing, watching films, playing guitar/bass, and am a husband with a coffee addiction. New horror novel due for 2017. This is my blog, offshoot from my website. It will be where I post current thoughts, opinions, views, reviews, or discussions about contemporary film, movies, books, video games, television series mostly in the horror, science fiction, fantasy and their sub-genre offshoots. The entertainment not in the mainstream (for the most part) and proud of it. Also follow me on twitter- @ParsonsFiction, and facebook - James E Parsons

Leave a Reply

