Posted on

Batman meets the Lovecraft Mythos

Lovecraft eZine

First of all, I’d like to say how saddened I am by the shootings in Denver.  I know that we all are.  I don’t understand what motivates someone to kill others.

I sometimes feel that being a Lovecraft fan is one of my ways to deal with the horrors of the real world.  I am weary of humanity.  Lovecraft was, too… and I feel that kinship.  As Michel Houellebecq writes in H.P. Lovecraft: Against the World, Against Life:

Life is painful and disappointing. It is useless, therefore, to write new realistic novels. We generally know where we stand in relation to reality and don’t care to know any more. Humanity, such as it is, inspires only an attenuated curiosity in us…

Now, here is Howard Phillips Lovecraft: “I am so beastly tired of mankind…”

Howard Phillips Lovecraft (1890–1937). We need a supreme antidote against all forms of realism.

View original post 418 more words

About JAMES E PARSONS

Author of science fiction novels Orbital Kin and Minerva Century-also horror, literary fiction, many short stories and screenplays. Always reading, writing, watching films, playing guitar/bass, and am a husband with a coffee addiction. New horror novel due for 2017. This is my blog, offshoot from my website. It will be where I post current thoughts, opinions, views, reviews, or discussions about contemporary film, movies, books, video games, television series mostly in the horror, science fiction, fantasy and their sub-genre offshoots. The entertainment not in the mainstream (for the most part) and proud of it. Also follow me on twitter- @ParsonsFiction, and facebook - James E Parsons

Leave a Reply

